So the guys behind these stupid sites have done what one would expect them to do. I got an email today at one of my email id with the subject: “Thank you for registering with jeevansathi.com”. Now the only problem was that I haven’t visited this dumb site EVER! Forget creating an account. Me has no intentions of finding a jeevan saathi at least not until the next couple of years. I left it during the day as I was on my cell phone & thought I’d look into it when I go home.
The funny thing is that when I got back home, I saw there was another mail from the faggots titled: “Seven steps to get married” urging me to complete my profile on their site. Sure, thanks. But fuck you a-holes I haven’t even created an account on your site. I decided to have a look at their thank you for registration mail & found very interesting registration details:
The user id & password made me realize the trick these guys are up to. They are creating dummy accounts based on your email ids with serial nos. like UXU0 blah blah user ids, your name as password & sending you confirmation mails! Seriously? You guys are so desperate to get us married?
The only possibility is some other service is selling my details to these fools & they are creating my account. Either way this is internet abuse. Unacceptable. Period.














February 26th, 2009 at 1:12 am
What if someone you know, might have gone there and created the account with your email ID?
I dont think these sites would create fake accounts like that, there is no benefit for them in it.
February 26th, 2009 at 1:26 am
Hmmmm … could be but then why would there be a random numbered Name, wouldn’t that person take my case royally else he’s an idiot & how can the profile pass screening without me even logging or editing the profile. The funny part is that the profile has passed screening & I’ve even got possible jeevan sathis! Beat that!
Also, the mails that I’m getting has links to premium features.
February 26th, 2009 at 1:28 am
Besides shouldn’t there be some sort of email verification where I would be sent a verification mail to click to activate profile if I created the profile. Now the mail I got was congratulations, not a confirmation. SO something is definitely fishy.
February 26th, 2009 at 1:32 am
I think, these matrimonial sites have funny userid series thing.. I had seen this on bharatmatrimony, not sure about about the jeevansaathi.
About activation, not sure if they would have it or not.. mostly they wont keep it coz 90% of the members are non-techies, so they wont know what’s activation, they might have phone verification before anyone could actually use the account.
But again, what you said could be possible too.
Regards,
Deep
February 26th, 2009 at 3:05 am
Stop twittering and get married…lulz
March 3rd, 2009 at 5:47 pm
Hi,
I’m the product manager of Jeevansathi.com. I’m extremely sorry for what happened to you. However, let me clarify that we do not cerate profiles automatically. As someone wisely pointed out, it wouldn’t serve our purpose to have guys who do not want to get married in our site.Also, your user name is an automatically generated string of characters to identify you (which is customisable).
Since you have the user name and the password, you can log into your profile and delete it or can drop us a mail (from the id registered in JS) to our team.
Please let us know if you have any concerns.
Regards
Krishnan
March 3rd, 2009 at 11:56 pm
Krishnan,
Just to let you know that I’ve been bombarded with similar emails. And I’m surprised to see there is now email verification process?
March 4th, 2009 at 12:12 am
Hi Krishnan,
Good to know that someone has come forward to take note & act.
“it wouldn’t serve our purpose to have guys who do not want to get married in our site”
Well, I & Preshit somehow landed up as registered users & our profiles even passed screening which surprises me. I’m sure there will be many more. Add to that the daily mails on perspective “partners”. This issue highlights 2 loop holes which you guys need to fix:
1. Avoid making fake profiles as its bad publicity & bad for the product.
2. Make a more stringent screening process.
March 4th, 2009 at 10:45 am
>>1. Avoid making fake profiles as its bad publicity & bad for the product.
I’m afraid you have missed the crux. We do *not* create fake profiles. Please understand that one of the people known to you has done this and the person is (probably) reading this entire dialog!
We have the date and time of creation of your profile along with the IP address from which it was created. Should you require such details, you can make a written request to me and I’ll be happy to oblige.
>>2. Make a more stringent screening process.
We are definitely working on this and will take whatever means and measures possible to cull out rogue entries. This would work in the best interests of the product and people like you.
>> Add to that the daily mails on perspective “partners”…
I see that you haven’t deleted your profile yet. Please delete your profile in case you do not need to be part of the site. That would stop all the daily mails from us!
Cheers
Krishnan
March 6th, 2009 at 12:33 am
After the post and comments, I’ll check out the site if my profile has also been created by *someone i know” as being claimed by Mr Krishnan.. Is bahane the site will get one extra hit today..
May 14th, 2009 at 4:59 am
Hello
I did open a real account with jeevansaathi.com
Even payed money, stupid me.
Jeevansaathi.com refused my profile on reasons not known (Most probably because I’m not of Indian orgin).
I said ok, there are reason to argue with a company that will not have you as customer. Asked for money back, got an e-mail saying it will be done within 48 hours (10 feb). That is more than 3 months ago. Opened two cases, asking where is my return just getting automatic e-mails and no real person.
Rating site close to fraud.
My recommendation please use another Indian site to find your soulmate.
BR
Ex customer
December 27th, 2009 at 3:59 pm
The exact same thing has happened to me. I got a congratulations email from them when I’ve never even heard of the site before. I assumed it must’ve been some kind of “bot” but the email address it was sent to is my very personal one, I don’t give this address out to anyone, so I don’t know how they got hold of it. I also keep getting emails telling me to complete my profile and wishing me happy christmas(!) I was hesitant to click “unsubscribe” incase it was all a hoax and I was giving my details to someone.
Ms RM